kitchen.

On the rare occasion I let myself dream.

I was dropping by an address I had never been to before and

No one was home.

Picking my way to the back of the house and

Up the stairs to the back porch that curved around

I peeked in the window.

My first instinct was to look away because

It’s the kind of kitchen I will never have.

It is beautiful.

Cabinets up to here and windows over to there.

The kind of kitchen with plenty of room for

All the toddlers.

A place for a table covered with lesson work

Piles of chairs for children’s lunch parties and

Knitting while you wait for the water to boil.

I imagined us in there for just a moment before

Ringing the bell one last time and

Walking away.

soundtrack

What you say

