99.

I have been thinking about love.

Wouldn’t it be simple if love were enough. If you could just love something harder and *poof*, problem solved?

Love is in balance. Lasting perpetual love needs care and sweat. It wants apologies and requires proof. Excuses and the past can erode love, forcing decisions.

Children are born to love. It runs like a river, parallel to their blood. In the early years they give it with no need of return, no balance and it is easy to give unmeasurable love back. Their needs change and shells harden. They need the love I give them with equal measures respect, patience and forgiveness.

I know this because I know love isn’t enough. I have walked away from love undeserving of my broken heart and I refuse to lead others astray.

What you say

