34.

Twenty years ago I moved to Boston from southern Illinois.

Not long after someone casually remarked to me that now

I was now in the real America.

There really is no retort to that, because it’s ridiculous.

I was disappointed realizing I hadn’t found what I was looking for

I had left that kind of idolizing behind only to find it beneath my feet.

Many years later when we were telling our families we were immigrating to Canada

The only moment which gave me pause was when my father said,

‘I fought for this country’.

Today I realize that you don’t have to be in America or the States or

A certain region to hold the grained in ideas of the dream to still hold it close.

What you say

