20.

I was rushing because the clouds were rolling in.

The sky had darkened when I decided that last bit of lawn needed mowing. Like a fool I ran up and down the hill dragging the mower behind. When I had stowed the mower in the shed I bent to pick a few flowers. The first drops fell as my back seized up. The kids were slamming the windows shut, filling jars of water just in case the power went out and I imagined what it would be like to lie face down in the grass just hoping the lightening wouldn’t  hit.

2 thoughts on “20.

What you say

