when you were one.

When you were one you had four teeth that we all liked to look at and run our fingers across.

Your hair was a wisp, hands nearly the size of your toddler sisters.

You loved porridge, chunks of butter, throwing bananas on the floor.

When you were one you were a nap resistor, yawning and fighting your way in to sleep.

You favoured arms to the sling and were the sweetest little nurselet.

Being a winter babe you had spent most of your life wrapped in layers of wool,

Spending time pulling off socks, biting and hiding them.

When you were one your siblings put in serious time teaching you to walk,

Chunky legs wobbling, feet slipping and giggles echoing down the hall.

You were surreptitiously fed nibbles of contaband sweets later found smooshed on the front of your shirt.

When you were one I whispered to you, I love you I love you I love you, my baby.

Maybe I will get you a dog or buy you a car.

Thank you for choosing me to be your mama.

Happiest of birthdays to my Reddy Fox! One short year ago after all the birth fuss settled one of your brothers, the only other sibling awake, whispered over you ‘I can’t believe you’re here, little brother!’. This has been the quickest first year and I have loved every moment of it.

One thought on “when you were one.

What you say

