child of her siblings.

Before she opens her eyes in the morning her head turns

To place a kiss on her baby brother’s cheek.

Two feet clunk to the floor, scuffling off to find her sister,

Wake up, it’s morning. Where are the boys?

I don’t remember a time they were not with her.

At her birth I remember all of our arms in a jumble on my stomach

Feeling her fingers and back, listening to her breathe.

She has never had a time without them.

A day alone with me holds little interest, too quiet, dull.

I never knew such a child could exist, before I had one.

using the write alm prompt from yesterday:

seamless

2 thoughts on “child of her siblings.

What you say

