i took a break.

Between roasting and sewing I took a break.

Scrunched on my rubber boots, the only shoes you can wear from now till June

Tied a bow under my babe’s chin , sneaking in to the ditch.

Picking up burrs and spent seeds, losing my feet in the cattail roots.

My family always say, You should take walk, have some time to yourself.

My friends call to tell me, You need a special treat.

Don’t I just. Let me get on that, I quip.

Blazing a trail,  a deer took a rest here, so will I

Leaning my hand against a trunk, I take a breather.

Keeping the brambles a hair breadth from the grasping clutch of my fellow hiker.

Remembering the time, I squelch out, bursting through the yellowed grass at the edge.

Astonished children’s faces, We didn’t know where you were!

Hang on, I have to baste the turkey.

What you say

