reading.

This month the ‘to read’ list is piling up.

The True Deceiver by Tove Jansson

Tove Jansson Bio by Boel Westin (the rippling, off grain paper used in the book block is killing this retired bookbinder)

Their Eyes Were Watching God by Zora Neale Hurston (in a bid to read books that I cannot believe I have not read yet)

Nothing by Henry Green (the titles of all of his books make me want to read them all, right now.)

The Blue Jay’s Dance by Louise Erdrich (book pick over at the other blog I work on, Sense of Story)

Has anyone read this?

Last night, deep in to bedtime with the tiniest, I finished This Real Night. The conclusion which I had already teased out but nevertheless still makes me gloomy today.

DSC07844

 

One of my April reads was Tove Jansson’s, Fair Play. The last paragraph of which contains the best review of the book that I think possible.

Mari was hardly listening. A daring thought was taking shape in her mind. She began to anticipate a solitude of her own, peaceful and full of possiblility. She felt something close to exhilaration, of a kind that people can permit themselves when they are blessed with love.

While it seems a shame that these books of Jansson’s that I have been reading lately haven’t been translated before, I am glad they have waited for these from Sort Of. My feeling is that the wording is just right.

 

linking up with the Circle of Pines monthly bookclub.

the-year-in-books

 

4 thoughts on “reading.

  1. I just finished Fair Play and I loved the simplicity full of depth nevertheless. Not to mention the beautiful rugged island on which they live. The tone (or style?) with its straightforwardness (plainness) is so refreshing and pleasant… Loved how they loved and recognized each other. Can’t wait to read other books by her.

What you say

