food.

We are in the middle of a heatwave. I am not complaining because the winters can be long, dreary and droopy but it is hot. A little bit too hot to cook, I think. Everyone else disagrees and keeps demanding meals. Oh, well. They are not satiated with snacking and vegetables and so I have been doing as little cooking as I can get away with and focusing on putting away what is in season.

Yesterday the lambs were taken to the abatoir. Dave and Dash returned home with the organs and skins. The organs I was expecting but the skins I thought were staying until we picked up the hung meat on Saturday. We will be working with the sheepskin in September and so we salted and froze them because we were in a hurry and like I said it is hot. I rooted through the bag of organs to get to the liver. After years of dealing soley with cow organs I was surprised at how small everything was especially the heart. As a celebratory lunch we had liver, bacon and onions with mashed potatoes. It was delicious and so meaningful for us.

In the late afternoon during resting time, oh, glorious resting time, I was reading one of our families favorite books, Foxfire and after I re-read the Snake Lore chapter  (hands down my favorite, do yourself a favor and read this, informative and amusing) I skipped to the recipes. Taken with the gingerbread recipe, I made an executive decision to make gingerbread and ice cold banana pudding for dinner. For once, everyone was happy.

The chickens have been interesting over the past week. Most are in the process of beginning to lay. Not only are the farmyard sounds great but there is the delight of finding a small egg here and there. We have had them poached and in the gingerbread. We have a pretty standard, nothing fancy dual-purpose hatch day breed. We wanted to get the hang of things before we started investing in heritage chickens. The chickens we have are all different sizes and are fairly uniform in look otherwise. Against everything I read I for sure thought the bigger ones would lay first. Weren’t the other ones puny? Well, of course I have been proved wrong and the smallest are laying. The plan is to have at least half for the winter freezer. And I think I am starting to get a good idea who those stewers are going to be.

I am wondering how others suss out who to cull?

And here is a photo of an unformed egg shell I found in the coop last night. The insides had oozed out and I think I managed to clean it up before anyone had the notion to peck at it. Fingers crossed. I do not want a bunch of egg eaters on my hands.

Image

One thought on “food.

  1. So funny. I have refused to turn on the oven this week due to the heat and the natives are not too thrilled. I am on an official hiatus from baking! We will bbq but that’s about it right now trying to eat everything fresh/raw.

What you say

