wild harvesting on a saturday.

I always let the elderflowers pass me by but this year I managed to catch them. ImageThis morning I went for a wake-up walk and in our bit of woods harvested a few bunches, careful to leave enough to both create berries and to not tax the plant too much. I have learned so much about wild harvesting from our local community, the PINE Project about safety and responsible stewardship. Our boys have both attended programs for over three years now and their knowledge on the subject far outweighs what I know. I checked herehere, consulted  a few books in the house and with one of our resident experts, Dash. I did not have poisoned hemlock so we were a go.

ImageI used the recipe from the second link for elderflower fritters. Image

A nice treat for a Saturday morning before all the farm chores had to be tackled.

Dave is putting up a new garden fence to keep these ladies out.

ImageThe feathered gals are livin’ the high life on ‘bucha scobies, strawberry tops and their own brand of wild harvesting in the woods where they march out to every morning as soon as the coop door is opened. Someday soon when I open that coop door there will be eggs waiting for me. Someday…..

ImageRika harvested her daily mouthful of wild strawberries and I managed to sneak a few from her eagle eye.

I noticed my sourdough starter went a little off and so was dumped in the compost. I like to keep it ready to go but yesterday because of a long day out at friends and then with errands missed feeding it and it tipped over the edge from sour to moldy which is a little disappointing because I picked up a great sourdough book and am eager try a few of the recipes. With this muggy, warm weather I will not have long to wait for that tangy smell and bubbles that let me know it’s time to bake. So I am doing some wild yeast harvesting as well.

ImageIf you are interested in sourdough I recommend this book. Which I feel very lucky to both have seen it come through my facebook feed on the Nourished Kitchen and have gotten at the library in record time.

Also if you are interested in reading more about teaching your children about living with and in nature I recommend the Coyote’s Guide. The programs our children attend are based on this invaluable book. In case you missed it I wrote an article about our experience of the Rite of Competence at the Rhythm of the Home’s summer edition. The Rite has some roots in the Coyote’s Guide as well.

One thought on “wild harvesting on a saturday.

  1. I almost got rid of my sourdough cause I had left it out a few days without using it or adding flour. It had turned a somewhat greyish colour plus the smell had turned weird. Decided to try it and it still rose to the occasion!

What you say

